Coast Guard · verified 2026-10-31
Coast Guard Academy requirements
The Coast Guard Academy is the one federal service academy that needs no congressional nomination — which removes the step that closes earliest everywhere else. Early Action closes 15 October and Regular Admission 15 January.
ACT minimum
None published
GPA minimum
None published
Nomination
Not required
Superscores
Not stated
76 days to the next deadline
No minimum means no ceiling on how much the score helps. It is 55% of the file.
Every point comes from specific concepts, not general effort. Finding which ones takes about three minutes.
Raise my ACT score →Free to start, no card. Built for the Enhanced ACT format.
Every published requirement
Read from the official source, with nothing inferred. A blank means the institution publishes no figure, not that there is no bar.
| Requirement | What is published |
|---|---|
| Test score | SAT or ACT required; the Academy ACT code is 0600. No published minimum or middle-50% range on the admissions pages. |
| GPA | No minimum published. |
| Nomination | None. In the Academy's own words: “Unlike the other federal service academies, the Coast Guard Academy does not require a Congressional nomination.” That removes the step that forces every other academy's real deadline back into September. |
| ACT Science section | Not required. |
| Fitness | Physical Fitness Examination (PFE). The Candidate Fitness Assessment used by the other academies cannot be substituted for it. |
| Medical | Medical exam due 15 February for Early Action, 1 April for Regular Admission. |
| Eligibility | A US citizen of sound moral character, 17–22 years of age on the last Monday in June, unmarried with no dependents or financial debt, and a high-school graduate or GED recipient before entry. |
Dates for this cycle
The next one is 76 days away. Dates that have passed are kept, because the pattern repeats each cycle and the spacing is the useful part.
| Milestone | Date | |
|---|---|---|
| Application opens | July 15, 2026 | passed |
| Early Action deadline | October 15, 2026 | passed |
| Regular Admission deadline | January 15, 2027 | 76 days |
| Medical exam — Early Action | February 15, 2027 | 107 days |
| Medical exam — Regular Admission | April 1, 2027 | 152 days |
| Appointment acceptance | May 1, 2027 | 182 days |
Working backwards: ACT publishes a one-to-four-week score release window, so the last sitting whose scores reliably arrive before January 15, 2027 is December 12, 2026. Every sitting’s release window, and the registration deadlines.
Which ACT sittings still work for January 15, 2027
ACT publishes a one-to-four-week score release window rather than a release calendar, so the usable sitting is earlier than the deadline suggests. Judged against the four-week end, which is the one to plan against when the cost of being late is the application.
| Test date | Register by | Scores by | In time? |
|---|---|---|---|
| December 12, 2026 | November 6, 2026 | January 9, 2027 | Yes |
| February 27, 2027 | January 22, 2027 | March 27, 2027 | Too late |
| April 10, 2027 | March 5, 2027 | May 8, 2027 | Too late |
| June 12, 2027 | May 7, 2027 | July 10, 2027 | Too late |
| July 10, 2027 | June 4, 2027 | August 7, 2027 | Too late |
The last sitting that works is December 12, 2026, and registration for it closes November 6, 2026. Coast Guard Academy does not publish a superscore policy, so plan for a single sitting to stand on its own.
Who takes your best sitting, and who does not
Two opposite retake strategies for the same applicant, and the comparison is published nowhere else. Superscoring means a later test can only help. A single-sitting rule means it has to clear the bar on its own.
| Programme | Superscores | ACT minimum | Nomination |
|---|---|---|---|
| West Point | Yes | None published | Required |
| Naval Academy | Yes | None published | Required |
| Air Force Academy | Yes | None published | Required |
| Coast Guard Academy | Not stated | None published | No |
| Army ROTC | Not stated | 19 | No |
| Air Force ROTC | No | 28 | No |
| Navy ROTC | Not stated | None published | No |
3 of these 7 take your best sections across sittings; Air Force ROTC explicitly does not. If you are applying to both kinds — and most applicants are — plan for the stricter rule, because a single strong sitting satisfies everyone and a patchwork of best sections does not.
The programmes that publish an actual floor
Only two do. The academies publish a deadline, a nomination requirement and a process — not a number.
| Programme | ACT | Percentile | GPA |
|---|---|---|---|
| Army ROTC | 19 | 58th | 2.50 |
| Air Force ROTC | 28 | 91st | 3.30 |
The gap between them is the whole story: Army ROTC at a 19 is the 58th percentile and AFROTC at a 28 is the 91st. Same uniform, nine points apart. The full percentile chart puts any score in that range.
The Physical Fitness Examination, by the numbers
Not the CFA — the Academy states the CFA cannot be substituted for it. Three events out of 300 points, and unlike anything on the academic side of this page it carries a real published minimum.
The one hard number on this page
150 of 300, or no full appointment.
The Academy publishes no minimum ACT score and does publish this one. It also notes the standard may be raised with the competitiveness of the applicant pool, so treat 150 as the floor of the floor.
| Event | Men | Women |
|---|---|---|
| Cadence push-ups | 41 | 27 |
| Two-minute sit-ups | 75 | 75 |
| 1.5-mile run | 10:37 | 12:02 |
| Total score (of 300) | 220 | 220 |
These are not requirements. They are the mean performances the Academy publishes for the Class of 2027 at their initial Swab Summer examination in July 2023 — admitted cadets, measured, offered for comparison. A 220 is what the middle of an admitted class did, not what you must do.
The rules, which matter more than the numbers:
- Three events worth a maximum of 100 points each, in a fixed sequence — cadence push-ups, two-minute sit-ups, then the 1.5-mile run — with a maximum of five minutes' rest between them.
- Scores must come from a single test session and cannot be pieced together from multiple sessions or practice tests.
- There is no prescribed minimum on any individual event. Only the total is assessed.
- An applicant who cannot reach 150 of 300 will not receive a full appointment, and the Academy states that standard may be raised with the competitiveness of the pool.
- The bar rises after you arrive: new cadets are expected to reach 180 by the end of Swab Summer, and cadets who cannot reach it by the end of the first semester are normally disenrolled.
Read from the Academy’s own Cadet Candidate Physical Fitness Examination Instruction Manual and Scoring Table.
What Coast Guard Academy is worth, and what it costs you
Not in the abstract. Against the 504 published merit grids we hold, which is the only honest yardstick we have.
What is covered
No cost for tuition, room or board. The Academy states the education is valued at more than $280,000, fully paid by the government.
Coast Guard Academy puts the figure at $280,000.
| Coast Guard Academy | Best merit award we hold | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Covered | $42,000/yr toward it |
| Room and board | Covered | Not covered |
| Medical | Covered | Not covered |
| Paid a salary | Yes | No |
| Four-year value | $280,000 (published) | $168,000 |
The largest published annual merit award anywhere in our dataset is $42,000 a year at Simpson, and 30 of 504 colleges publish $30,000 or more anywhere in their grid. None of them covers room, board and medical as well, and none of them pays you. What your own score is worth at all 504.
The cost, which is not money
A five-year commitment to serve as a commissioned Coast Guard officer. That is the part a scholarship comparison leaves out, and it is the only part that cannot be bought back. A merit award asks you to keep a GPA; this asks for years of your life, and that is the actual trade.
What a score will not do for Coast Guard Academy
- Replace the rest of the file. No nomination is needed here, but fitness, medical qualification and the interview are each their own gate.
- Pass the fitness test or the medical. Physical Fitness Examination (PFE). The Candidate Fitness Assessment used by the other academies cannot be substituted for it. Medical exam due 15 February for Early Action, 1 April for Regular Admission.
- Stand in for a published requirement that does not exist. Coast Guard Academy publishes no minimum, so nobody can tell you the score you "need" — including us.
- Carry an out-of-date eligibility rule. Age, citizenship and dependency rules are strict and are checked: A US citizen of sound moral character, 17–22 years of age on the last Monday in June, unmarried with no dependents or financial debt, and a high-school graduate or GED recipient before entry.
Questions about Coast Guard Academy
What ACT score do you need for Coast Guard Academy?
Coast Guard Academy publishes no minimum ACT score. SAT or ACT required; the Academy ACT code is 0600. No published minimum or middle-50% range on the admissions pages. Any page quoting a required score for Coast Guard Academy has inferred it from an admitted-student range rather than read it from a published requirement.
Can you send a new ACT score after you apply to Coast Guard Academy?
Coast Guard Academy does not publish a superscore policy. Submit your best result and ask the detachment or admissions office directly rather than assuming either way.
Does Coast Guard Academy require a congressional nomination?
No. None. In the Academy's own words: “Unlike the other federal service academies, the Coast Guard Academy does not require a Congressional nomination.” That removes the step that forces every other academy's real deadline back into September.
Does Coast Guard Academy need the ACT Science section?
No. Coast Guard Academy does not require it. Worth knowing because Air Force ROTC does, and Science is optional on the Enhanced ACT — so if you are applying to both, register for Science.
When is the Coast Guard Academy deadline?
The next published date is regular admission deadline on January 15, 2027, 76 days away. Working backwards through ACT's one-to-four-week score release, the last sitting whose scores reliably arrive in time is December 12, 2026.
Sources
The other academies and ROTC scholarships
- West Point requirements — no published minimum, nomination required
- Naval Academy requirements — no published minimum, nomination required
- Air Force Academy requirements — no published minimum, nomination required
- Army ROTC requirements — 19 ACT minimum, no nomination
- Air Force ROTC requirements — 28 ACT minimum, no nomination
- Navy ROTC requirements — no published minimum, no nomination
Every figure on this page was read from Coast Guard Academy’s own published pages on October 31, 2026 and is linked below. Where the institution publishes no minimum score, this page says so rather than quoting an admitted-student range as a requirement. Requirements and deadlines change between cycles and the official source is the authority. This is a reading of it, not advice, and ClutchACT is not affiliated with United States Coast Guard Academy or the US Department of Defense.