Navy and Marine Corps · verified 2026-10-31

Naval Academy requirements

Annapolis publishes no minimum ACT score. It superscores by taking your highest ACT English and your highest Math, requires a nomination, and will not accept scores from a test taken with accommodations.

ACT minimum

None published

GPA minimum

None published

Nomination

Required

Superscores

Yes

61 days to the next deadline

No minimum means no ceiling on how much the score helps. It is 55% of the file.

Every point comes from specific concepts, not general effort. Finding which ones takes about three minutes.

Raise my ACT score →

Free to start, no card. Built for the Enhanced ACT format.

Every published requirement

Read from the official source, with nothing inferred. A blank means the institution publishes no figure, not that there is no bar.

Published Naval Academy requirements: test scores, GPA, nomination, fitness, medical and eligibility
RequirementWhat is published
Test scoreSAT, ACT or CLT required; the ACT code is 1742. No published minimum. Scores from a test taken with accommodations are not accepted.
GPANo minimum published.
NominationA nomination from an official source is mandatory — Senators, Representatives, the Vice President, the Navy or Marine Corps, ROTC and JROTC units, and certain veteran-related categories.
ACT Science sectionNot required.
FitnessCandidate Fitness Assessment: one-mile run, shuttle run, basketball throw, crunches, push-ups and pull-ups or flexed-arm hang.
MedicalDoDMERB medical examination. Disqualifying conditions are automatically considered for a waiver if you are competitive.
EligibilityUS citizen by 1 July of the entry year, at least 17 and not past your 23rd birthday on 1 July, unmarried, not pregnant, no dependents.

Dates for this cycle

The next one is 61 days away. Dates that have passed are kept, because the pattern repeats each cycle and the spacing is the useful part.

Naval Academy published application and deadline dates
MilestoneDate
Preliminary application closesDecember 31, 202661 days
Test must be TAKEN byJanuary 31, 202792 days
Full application deadlineJanuary 31, 202792 days
Appointment decisionsApril 15, 2027166 days
Acceptance deadlineMay 1, 2027182 days

Working backwards: ACT publishes a one-to-four-week score release window, so the last sitting whose scores reliably arrive before December 31, 2026 is October 17, 2026. Every sitting’s release window, and the registration deadlines.

Which ACT sittings still work for December 31, 2026

ACT publishes a one-to-four-week score release window rather than a release calendar, so the usable sitting is earlier than the deadline suggests. Judged against the four-week end, which is the one to plan against when the cost of being late is the application.

Remaining ACT test dates judged against the Naval Academy deadline of December 31, 2026
Test dateRegister byScores byIn time?
December 12, 2026November 6, 2026January 9, 2027Too late
February 27, 2027January 22, 2027March 27, 2027Too late
April 10, 2027March 5, 2027May 8, 2027Too late
June 12, 2027May 7, 2027July 10, 2027Too late
July 10, 2027June 4, 2027August 7, 2027Too late

The last sitting that works is October 17, 2026, and registration for it closes September 11, 2026. Because Naval Academy superscores, an extra sitting carries no downside — a weaker section is simply ignored.

Who takes your best sitting, and who does not

Two opposite retake strategies for the same applicant, and the comparison is published nowhere else. Superscoring means a later test can only help. A single-sitting rule means it has to clear the bar on its own.

Superscore policy, published ACT minimum and nomination requirement across the US service academies and ROTC scholarship programmes
ProgrammeSuperscoresACT minimumNomination
West PointYesNone publishedRequired
Naval AcademyYesNone publishedRequired
Air Force AcademyYesNone publishedRequired
Coast Guard AcademyNot statedNone publishedNo
Army ROTCNot stated19No
Air Force ROTCNo28No
Navy ROTCNot statedNone publishedNo

3 of these 7 take your best sections across sittings; Air Force ROTC explicitly does not. If you are applying to both kinds — and most applicants are — plan for the stricter rule, because a single strong sitting satisfies everyone and a patchwork of best sections does not.

The programmes that publish an actual floor

Only two do. The academies publish a deadline, a nomination requirement and a process — not a number.

Published minimum ACT scores and GPAs across ROTC scholarship programmes, with the national percentile of each
ProgrammeACTPercentileGPA
Army ROTC1958th2.50
Air Force ROTC2891st3.30

The gap between them is the whole story: Army ROTC at a 19 is the 58th percentile and AFROTC at a 28 is the 91st. Same uniform, nine points apart. The full percentile chart puts any score in that range.

The nomination, and the deadline it hides

Every page about Naval Academy tells you a nomination is required. The part that costs people the application is when it closes — and what that does to your last useful test date.

The arithmetic nobody does

Your real ACT deadline is the spring of junior year, not January of senior year.

Nomination packets typically ask for test scores and most close in September or October of senior year. Run that against ACT’s own one-to-four-week release window and no sitting in the 2026-2027 testing year produces a score in time for an October 1 packet. The last one that clears a 31 October packet is September 19, 2026, and that test has already happened.

Naval Academy will take your score until January 31, 2027. Congress will not wait that long. Plan for the earlier date and the later one takes care of itself.

Nomination sources a Naval Academy candidate can request from
SourceWhat it means
Both US SenatorsFor your state. Apply to both — they are separate applications with separate deadlines.
Your US RepresentativeFor your congressional district.
The Vice PresidentNationwide rather than by district. Five students may attend on a vice-presidential nomination at any one time.
The PresidentFor children of career military personnel.
Service-connectedActive-duty, reserve, ROTC and JROTC units; children of deceased or disabled veterans, of prisoners of war or servicemen missing in action, and of Medal of Honor recipients.

West Point’s own instruction is blunt about how many to chase: “You should apply to every source available.” They are separate applications with separate deadlines, and each position may nominate up to 15 applicants per vacancy at West Point — so a nomination from one source does not crowd out another.

Service academy nomination timeline by school year
WhenWhat happens
Spring of junior yearResearch nomination requirements. Every congressional office runs its own process with its own deadline and its own forms.
Spring / summer before senior yearCongressional offices prefer to be contacted now. This is also the last point at which an ACT sitting can produce a score in time for an autumn packet.
September – October of senior yearMost nomination deadlines fall here. Packets typically want a transcript, test scores, a resume, an essay, letters of recommendation and an interview.
31 January of senior yearThe academy's own deadline — the last thing to close, not the first.

The Candidate Fitness Assessment, by the numbers

Six events in one sitting, 15% of a West Point file, and the same battery at Annapolis and the Air Force Academy. These are the MAXIMUM standards — the performance worth the full 100 points on that event, not a pass mark.

Candidate Fitness Assessment maximum performance standards by event and sex, from West Point's published instruction document
EventMale maxFemale maxWhat it measures
Basketball throw (kneeling)102 ft68 ftShoulder power, coordination and balance from a stationary position. Three trials within two minutes.
Cadence pull-ups187Muscular strength and endurance of the arm, shoulder and back. Women may do the flexed-arm hang instead.
Shuttle run7.8 sec8.6 secSpeed, agility and the ability to change direction.
Modified sit-ups9595Abdominal and hip-flexor endurance. The only event with the same standard for both.
Push-ups7550Upper-body muscular endurance.
One-mile run5:206:00Cardio-respiratory endurance. Run last, by design.

The rules people fail on, rather than the standards they fall short of:

Standards read verbatim from West Point’s Candidate Fitness Assessment Instructions. Widely circulated “average competitive” figures are deliberately not reproduced here: they are not in the instruction document and we could not source them to any academy. Training to an invented benchmark and stopping there is a worse outcome than not having one.

What Naval Academy is worth, and what it costs you

Not in the abstract. Against the 504 published merit grids we hold, which is the only honest yardstick we have.

What is covered

The Navy pays 100% of tuition, room and board; midshipmen attend on a full scholarship and are paid a monthly stipend.

Naval Academy compared with the largest published merit scholarship in a 504-college dataset
Naval AcademyBest merit award we hold
TuitionCovered$42,000/yr toward it
Room and boardCoveredNot covered
MedicalCoveredNot covered
Paid a salaryYesNo
Four-year valueNot published as a figure$168,000

The largest published annual merit award anywhere in our dataset is $42,000 a year at Simpson, and 30 of 504 colleges publish $30,000 or more anywhere in their grid. None of them covers room, board and medical as well, and none of them pays you. What your own score is worth at all 504.

The cost, which is not money

Five years of active duty service upon graduation. That is the part a scholarship comparison leaves out, and it is the only part that cannot be bought back. A merit award asks you to keep a GPA; this asks for years of your life, and that is the actual trade.

If you are a sophomore or a junior

The thing to do now is not the application. It closes in the spring and almost nobody hears about it in time.

Applications open 5 January – 31 March

Summer Seminar (NASS)

A one-week programme for rising seniors — you apply as a junior. Competitive, and the window closes in March.

A junior also has the one advantage a senior does not: time to test more than once. Naval Academy superscores, so every extra sitting between now and January of senior year can only raise the number they read.

See where my score stands now →

What a score will not do for Naval Academy

Questions about Naval Academy

What ACT score do you need for Naval Academy?

Naval Academy publishes no minimum ACT score. SAT, ACT or CLT required; the ACT code is 1742. No published minimum. Scores from a test taken with accommodations are not accepted. Any page quoting a required score for Naval Academy has inferred it from an admitted-student range rather than read it from a published requirement.

Can you send a new ACT score after you apply to Naval Academy?

Yes, and it is worth doing. Naval Academy superscores — "The Naval Academy Admissions Board uses the highest reading and writing score … for SAT or the English score for ACT and the highest math scores.", so a later sitting can only help: a better section replaces the old one and a worse one is ignored. Scores count up to January 31, 2027.

Does Naval Academy require a congressional nomination?

Yes. A nomination from an official source is mandatory — Senators, Representatives, the Vice President, the Navy or Marine Corps, ROTC and JROTC units, and certain veteran-related categories.

Does Naval Academy need the ACT Science section?

No. Naval Academy does not require it. Worth knowing because Air Force ROTC does, and Science is optional on the Enhanced ACT — so if you are applying to both, register for Science.

When is the Naval Academy deadline?

The next published date is preliminary application closes on December 31, 2026, 61 days away. Working backwards through ACT's one-to-four-week score release, the last sitting whose scores reliably arrive in time is October 17, 2026.

Sources

The other academies and ROTC scholarships

Every figure on this page was read from Naval Academy’s own published pages on October 31, 2026 and is linked below. Where the institution publishes no minimum score, this page says so rather than quoting an admitted-student range as a requirement. Requirements and deadlines change between cycles and the official source is the authority. This is a reading of it, not advice, and ClutchACT is not affiliated with United States Naval Academy or the US Department of Defense.