Navy and Marine Corps · verified 2026-10-31
Navy ROTC requirements
NROTC sets its Navy-option floor by SECTION rather than by composite: a 21 ACT Math and a 22 ACT English. A composite that looks comfortable can still miss it on one section, which no composite-only score report will tell you.
ACT minimum
None published
GPA minimum
None published
Nomination
Not required
Superscores
Not stated
The academic record is the largest single factor
No minimum means no ceiling on how much the score helps. It is 55% of the file.
Every point comes from specific concepts, not general effort. Finding which ones takes about three minutes.
Raise my ACT score →Free to start, no card. Built for the Enhanced ACT format.
Every published requirement
Read from the official source, with nothing inferred. A blank means the institution publishes no figure, not that there is no bar.
| Requirement | What is published |
|---|---|
| Test score | Navy option: minimum ACT scores of 21 Math and 22 English (44 combined), or SAT 550 Critical Reading and 540 Math (1100 combined). The Marine Corps option is stated separately and differs — check the official page for it. |
| GPA | No minimum GPA is published on the Navy's own summary page. |
| Nomination | No congressional nomination is required. |
| ACT Science section | Not required. |
| Fitness | A physical fitness assessment and an officer interview are part of the process. |
| Medical | Medical qualification through DoDMERB. |
| Eligibility | US citizen, 17–23 years of age by 1 September of the year you start college. |
Dates for this cycle
Kept as published. Where a date varies by office or board, that is stated rather than guessed.
| Milestone | Date | |
|---|---|---|
| Application window | Boards run through the autumn and winter of senior year; apply early |
Who takes your best sitting, and who does not
Two opposite retake strategies for the same applicant, and the comparison is published nowhere else. Superscoring means a later test can only help. A single-sitting rule means it has to clear the bar on its own.
| Programme | Superscores | ACT minimum | Nomination |
|---|---|---|---|
| West Point | Yes | None published | Required |
| Naval Academy | Yes | None published | Required |
| Air Force Academy | Yes | None published | Required |
| Coast Guard Academy | Not stated | None published | No |
| Army ROTC | Not stated | 19 | No |
| Air Force ROTC | No | 28 | No |
| Navy ROTC | Not stated | None published | No |
3 of these 7 take your best sections across sittings; Air Force ROTC explicitly does not. If you are applying to both kinds — and most applicants are — plan for the stricter rule, because a single strong sitting satisfies everyone and a patchwork of best sections does not.
The programmes that publish an actual floor
Only two do. The academies publish a deadline, a nomination requirement and a process — not a number.
| Programme | ACT | Percentile | GPA |
|---|---|---|---|
| Army ROTC | 19 | 58th | 2.50 |
| Air Force ROTC | 28 | 91st | 3.30 |
The gap between them is the whole story: Army ROTC at a 19 is the 58th percentile and AFROTC at a 28 is the 91st. Same uniform, nine points apart. The full percentile chart puts any score in that range.
What Navy ROTC is worth, and what it costs you
Not in the abstract. Against the 504 published merit grids we hold, which is the only honest yardstick we have.
| Navy ROTC | Best merit award we hold | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Covered by the scholarship | $42,000/yr toward it |
| Room and board | Not covered | Not covered |
| Medical | Not covered | Not covered |
| Paid a salary | A monthly stipend | No |
| Four-year value | Not published as a figure | $168,000 |
The largest published annual merit award anywhere in our dataset is $42,000 a year at Simpson, and 30 of 504 colleges publish $30,000 or more anywhere in their grid. None of them covers room, board and medical as well, and none of them pays you. What your own score is worth at all 504.
The cost, which is not money
Navy option scholarship midshipmen serve a minimum of five years of active duty. Marine Corps option midshipmen serve at least four years on active duty. That is the part a scholarship comparison leaves out, and it is the only part that cannot be bought back. A merit award asks you to keep a GPA; this asks for years of your life, and that is the actual trade.
What a score will not do for Navy ROTC
- Replace the rest of the file. No nomination is needed here, but fitness, medical qualification and the interview are each their own gate.
- Pass the fitness test or the medical. A physical fitness assessment and an officer interview are part of the process. Medical qualification through DoDMERB.
- Stand in for a published requirement that does not exist. Navy ROTC publishes no minimum, so nobody can tell you the score you "need" — including us.
- Carry an out-of-date eligibility rule. Age, citizenship and dependency rules are strict and are checked: US citizen, 17–23 years of age by 1 September of the year you start college.
Questions about Navy ROTC
What ACT score do you need for Navy ROTC?
Navy ROTC publishes no minimum ACT score. Navy option: minimum ACT scores of 21 Math and 22 English (44 combined), or SAT 550 Critical Reading and 540 Math (1100 combined). The Marine Corps option is stated separately and differs — check the official page for it. Any page quoting a required score for Navy ROTC has inferred it from an admitted-student range rather than read it from a published requirement.
Can you send a new ACT score after you apply to Navy ROTC?
Navy ROTC does not publish a superscore policy. Submit your best result and ask the detachment or admissions office directly rather than assuming either way.
Does Navy ROTC require a congressional nomination?
No. No congressional nomination is required.
Does Navy ROTC need the ACT Science section?
No. Navy ROTC does not require it. Worth knowing because Air Force ROTC does, and Science is optional on the Enhanced ACT — so if you are applying to both, register for Science.
When is the Navy ROTC deadline?
Navy ROTC does not publish a single fixed date for this cycle. Boards run through the autumn and winter of senior year; apply early
Sources
The other academies and ROTC scholarships
- West Point requirements — no published minimum, nomination required
- Naval Academy requirements — no published minimum, nomination required
- Air Force Academy requirements — no published minimum, nomination required
- Coast Guard Academy requirements — no published minimum, no nomination
- Army ROTC requirements — 19 ACT minimum, no nomination
- Air Force ROTC requirements — 28 ACT minimum, no nomination
Every figure on this page was read from Navy ROTC’s own published pages on October 31, 2026 and is linked below. Where the institution publishes no minimum score, this page says so rather than quoting an admitted-student range as a requirement. Requirements and deadlines change between cycles and the official source is the authority. This is a reading of it, not advice, and ClutchACT is not affiliated with NROTC Four-Year National Scholarship or the US Department of Defense.