Service academies & ROTC · verified 2026-10-31
Service academy and ROTC requirements
Four federal service academies and three ROTC scholarships, with the part everybody gets wrong first: none of the academies publishes a minimum ACT score. Only 2 programmes here publish a floor at all — Army ROTC at a 19 and Air Force ROTC at a 28.
Programmes
7
Publish a score floor
2
No nomination needed
4
Need ACT Science
1
The academic record is 55% of a West Point file
No published minimum means no point at which the score stops helping.
These are the most score-sensitive applications a seventeen-year-old can make, and most of them let you keep testing until January of senior year. Finding which concepts are costing you points takes about three minutes.
Raise my ACT score →Free to start, no card. Built for the Enhanced ACT format.
All seven compared
The comparison that is published nowhere else. Superscoring decides whether retaking helps you; the nomination decides when your real deadline is.
| Programme | ACT min | Superscores | Nomination | Needs Science |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| West Point | — | Yes | Required | No |
| Naval Academy | — | Yes | Required | No |
| Air Force Academy | — | Yes | Required | No |
| Coast Guard Academy | — | Not stated | No | No |
| Army ROTC | 19 | Not stated | No | No |
| Air Force ROTC | 28 | No | No | Yes |
| Navy ROTC | — | Not stated | No | No |
The Enhanced ACT trap in one paragraph
The single most expensive thing on this page, and it is not a score.
Air Force ROTC requires the ACT Science section. On the Enhanced ACT Science is optional and excluded from the composite, so a student who registers in the ordinary way will not have a Science score and cannot compete for that scholarship. Neither organisation flags it, because from each side it looks like the other one’s business. If AFROTC is on your list, opt in to Science at registration — and if you have already tested without it, you need another sitting.
The four federal service academies
All need a score. None publishes a minimum.
West Point requirements →
West Point publishes no minimum ACT score. It requires a score, a congressional nomination, a fitness test and a medical qualification — and it superscores, with official scores due by 31 January of your senior year.
Naval Academy requirements →
Annapolis publishes no minimum ACT score. It superscores by taking your highest ACT English and your highest Math, requires a nomination, and will not accept scores from a test taken with accommodations.
Air Force Academy requirements →
The Air Force Academy publishes no minimum ACT score and counts only your highest score on each test, so you may sit the ACT as many times as you can before the deadline. The binding constraint is the nomination: many congressional offices close as early as 1 September.
Coast Guard Academy requirements →
The Coast Guard Academy is the one federal service academy that needs no congressional nomination — which removes the step that closes earliest everywhere else. Early Action closes 15 October and Regular Admission 15 January.
The three ROTC scholarships
No nomination, and two of the three publish a hard score floor.
Army ROTC requirements →
19 ACT · 58th percentile
Army ROTC publishes the lowest score floor of any of these programmes: a 19 ACT and a 2.50 GPA. No nomination is required, which makes it the most reachable route on this page by a wide margin.
Air Force ROTC requirements →
28 ACT · 91st percentile
AFROTC is the strictest and the most specific: a 28 ACT, a 3.3 unweighted GPA, no superscoring, and you MUST sit the ACT Science section — which the Enhanced ACT makes optional. A student who takes the test the normal way in 2026 is ineligible and will not be told.
NROTC sets its Navy-option floor by SECTION rather than by composite: a 21 ACT Math and a 22 ACT English. A composite that looks comfortable can still miss it on one section, which no composite-only score report will tell you.
Questions about service academy requirements
What ACT score do you need for a service academy?
None of the four federal service academies publishes a minimum ACT score. They publish a deadline, a nomination requirement, a fitness assessment and a medical standard. The ROTC scholarships do publish floors: Army ROTC a 19, Air Force ROTC a 28. Any page quoting a "required" score for West Point or Annapolis has inferred it from an admitted-student range.
Which service academy does not require a congressional nomination?
The Coast Guard Academy. In its own words: "Unlike the other federal service academies, the Coast Guard Academy does not require a Congressional nomination." The ROTC scholarships do not require one either. That matters for timing as much as difficulty — congressional nomination requests often close in September, months before the academies' own deadlines.
Can you retake the ACT for a service academy application?
Yes, and for most of them it only helps. West Point, Naval Academy, Air Force Academy all superscore, so a later sitting replaces a weaker section and never costs you. Air Force ROTC does not — there a single sitting has to clear the bar by itself.
Do you need the ACT Science section for ROTC?
For Air Force ROTC, yes — and it is the one that catches people. Science is optional on the Enhanced ACT and excluded from the composite, so a student who registers normally will not have a Science score and cannot compete for an AFROTC scholarship. You must opt in at registration. No other programme on this page requires it.
Every figure was read from each institution’s own published pages on October 31, 2026 and linked on the page for that programme. Where an institution publishes no minimum score, these pages say so rather than quoting an admitted-student range as a requirement. ClutchACT is not affiliated with any of these institutions or the US Department of Defense.